Paris in the Spring time

Paris in the Springtime

Paris in the Spring time

The last time my husband and I were in Paris was in the Autumn and we stayed by the Seine. This time we stayed close to La Gare Montparnasse. Totally different atmosphere! It felt more like a city than the city of love, but there were some highlights.

We stayed in Hotel M, which was a great hotel. However the location was a little….well, when I saw a couple of sex shops in the area I wasn’t overly surprised. Nevertheless it was full of little theatres and bars and was lively. Having stayed near the Seine and walked along it’s banks last time though the area didn’t have the same impact.

I was waiting for my husband to arrive, as he was coming in from abroad, so I found myself walking the area alone and a lovely little square – a tranquil oasis.

Sat in a café alone people kept asking me what was happening with Brexit. I don’t know and I don’t think anyone else does either was my reply.

The highlight of the visit was la Basilique de Sacré Cœur. We first went there on our first anniversary. There is a group of nuns attached to the Basilica and as they came out to sing and my breath was taken away.

For some reason the ability to get to confession recently had alluded me, so we had headed out at a time I could go. As I sat down waiting I was overwhelmed by the feeling of God’s grace. I felt like the prodigal son, surrounded by his father’s love even before I could get the words of my repentance out.

I sat next to a woman who told me she’d been sat there hoping for the courage to go. It’s the second time I’ve had that kind of conversation. It’s so sad. Confession truly is a gift.

As I waited I prayed for my husband’s conversion. I’m so lucky to have a spouse that supports my faith despite his doubt. I sat with him after receiving absolution and just as I did so the nuns came out again, ready to sing. Such beauty.

Here are his shots of the view….


Published by

La Maison du Sacre Coeur

Hi, I'm a SAHM who's moved to France with my husband and two daughters. My blog focuses on our family life & decorating our 18th century village house here. I'm scouring brocantes to find furniture to revive as well as little special somethings for our home. I love DIY and craft - sewing, painting, whatever. If any of these things interest you I'd love for you to stay and wander through the site - especially if you want to tell me what you think! God bless, Andrea

Leave a comment